Remembering my Raindrops and Whiskers

Lately, in the midst of so many graduations and birth announcements and job changes and conversations about all of those things, I’ve been feeling restless.  I keep looking over the horizon of tomorrow and thinking, “What’s next?” and meanwhile about 35,000 blessings are passing under my nose, unnoticed or forgotten. That’s unacceptable.

I need to document “a few of my favorite things” so that I can re-read and re-live and reJOICE in all I have in the here and now. Unlike Julie Andrews, I’m not putting them to a song but feel free to imagine you’re frolicking on the set of Sound of Music while you read. 😉

My Raindrops on Roses and Whiskers on Kittens

Stealing kisses from my adorable godson in plain sight of my smiling, eyebrows-raised husband.

When I feel John’s arm around my shoulders or his hand on my knee.

Running with the wind pushing me to go faster.

Laughing in disbelief (or maybe delirium?) when I crossed the finish line at my first half marathon.

Giving and receiving hugs that are unapologetically long and (literally) heart-warming.

Crying like a blubbering idiot in front of my seminary wife group when I found out (moments before they arrived at my house) that my beautiful nephew Cade was born.

Screaming out a chorus to a heavy metal song with John while he drove, windows down, hair flying, and grinning like mad men.

Memorizing Romans 12.

Hearing John pray over our future and crying because I do such a terrible job of appreciating the present (hence this post). Which in turn reminded me of how marvelously indebted to and thankful I am for the grace of Jesus. So I cried even harder with happy tears.

Listening to my cat snore on my lap while I scrapbook.

Being told I was used by God to bring hope or encouragement in someone’s life. I can’t wrap my head around this enough.

Holding a newborn baby. May that NEVER get old.

Talking with my college roommate as if the conversation had never ended.

Saturday morning pancakes.

Adding another crockpot recipe to our “regular” meals  (a pretty big deal for yours truly).

Sitting down to read my Bible for a few minutes, and reading it for hours instead because I got lost in the beautiful story-telling.

Combatting my road rage by singing worship songs at the top of my lungs, and laughing at the reactions in my rearview mirror.

Watching the cat chase flies around our house. Or, even better — watching John AND the cat chase flies around our house.

Breaking into a sweat just from dancing around my 750sq ft apartment because it unleashes a passion I don’t express as much as I probably should.

BOOM.

And that’s not even all of ’em!

Well, what are you waiting for? Get grateful and get busy writing your own list!

Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change. ~ James 1:17

Leave a Reply

