Uncommon Grace

Uncommon Grace

For God so loved the world…

Once I walked in common grace, oblivious to His presence,

Relishing a big bear hug or a cool breeze through my hair.

I thought myself a lucky girl, yet my soul lived as a peasant.

Never seeing beyond the apparent, I didn’t think to care.

I sang the song a hundred times, “how sweet the sound” indeed!

Until at last my soul awoke, “This grace will set me free.”

For while the lost and found alike can soak up rays of sun,

Only souls who accept His grace will find unending love.

Oh that you would know the God who thought you into being!

I’m not promising the end of pain but is your purpose not worth seeing?

We are common, you and I, surrounded by the normal,

But this grace speaks to worn-out souls, and sets free the eternal.

The laughter of a child and the understanding of a friend

are not the end of knowing grace, they point us straight to Him.

Dying for a world that hope seemed to have forsaken,

he bled and breathed his last so that the penalty was taken.

What a dismal story if it ended at the tomb,

But take heart for He has risen and is preparing many rooms!

Rooms for each who call on Jesus, hallowed be His name,

For wretches who ran past the common and found the grace that saves.

Once I walked in common grace unknowing, unaware.

Now I live in saving grace, uncommon and unfair.

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him.

John 3:16-17



Leave a Reply

